## JEFFERSON CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT 315 EAST DUNKLIN JEFFERSON CITY, MO MINUTES OF OPEN WORK SESSION MONDAY, FEBRUARY 22, 2016

### **CALL TO ORDER**

An open work session of the Board of Education was called to order by President John Ruth at 6:00 p.m. at the Board Building, 315 East Dunklin Street, Jefferson City, MO.

#### **ROLL CALL**

Members present: Pam Murray, Steve Bruce, Doug Whitehead, John Ruth, Dennis Nickelson, Ken Theroff and Michael Couty. A quorum was established.

### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

A motion to approve the Agenda was made by Doug Whitehead and seconded by Ken Theroff. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-None. Abstentions-None. Absent-0.

### 2016-2017 PRELIMINARY BUDGET

Mr. Jason Hoffman, CFO/COO presented the board with a preliminary budget update for 2016-2017 through a power point (attached in the official minute book). Mr. Hoffman stated after two budget amendments this fiscal year, the district is currently at a \$473,214 deficit, with 22.1% in reserves. He also stated that District health insurance and PSRS/PEERS is stable and there will be no increase next year. At the March board meeting he will present the same information, but with more detailed information. See Mr. Hoffman's report.

# MOTION TO SUSPEND WORK SESSION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED WORK SESSION

At 6:55 p.m. a motion was made to suspend the open work session to enter into closed session pursuant to §610.021 (1) Legal actions, causes of action or litigation involving a public governmental body...; (13) individually identifiable personnel records,...; and (14) records which are protected from disclosure by law. The motion was made by Doug Whitehead and seconded by Steve Bruce. The motion carried with a roll call vote: John Ruth–Aye. Steve Bruce–Aye. Doug Whitehead–Aye. Dennis Nickelson–Aye. Ken Theroff–Aye. Pam Murray–Aye. Michael Couty-Aye. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes–7. Nays–0. Abstentions–0. Absent–0.

### ADJOURN CLOSED WORK SESSION

The Board adjourned the closed meeting at 8:46 p.m. with a motion made by Dennis Nickelson and seconded by Doug Whitehead. The motion carried with a roll call vote: John Ruth-Aye. Steve Bruce-Aye. Doug Whitehead-Aye. Dennis Nickelson-Aye. Ken Theroff-Aye. Pam Murray-Aye. Michael Couty – Aye. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-0. Abstentions-0. Absent-0.

### RESUMPTION OF WORK SESSION

The regular open meeting resumed at 8:47 p.m.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the Board, Dennis Nickelson presented a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Doug Whitehead. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes–7. Nays- 0. Abstentions–0. Absent–0. The regular, work session adjourned at 8:48 p.m.

	John Ruth, President	
Stephanie Sappenfield, Secretary		